10 years

Press and Reviews

The Crypt. The Home of Horror on Irish Radio - 2015

Haunted Spooktacular Horror Farm: A Fear Fueled Feast for the Adrenaline Junkie!!!

It goes without saying that I am a massive horror fan so when I discovered that Ireland had its very scare attraction, Haunted Spooktacular Horror Farm in Kells County Meath it was my mission to make the trip and experience all the farm had to offer. So last night both myself and members of The Mayo Horror Society hit the road ready to  face all that goes bump in the night.

From the moment you enter the attraction all your senses are attacked. Through various stages of the walk you go from pitch black cabins, to intense strobe lighting and you have to feel your way around touching all sorts to navigate through the rooms. The actors are absolutely amazing. Before going in I thought because I know these are actors will I actually find them freaky. Well the performance from these guys is so good that you actually forget it's not real as you scream like a nutjob trying to get away from them. There is a jump scare around every corner and never think you are safe because you never know what is coming next. 

The new additions to the attraction this year including Asylum, School House Massacre and Hillbilly Horrors at Redneck Creek were beyond amazing. Girls were actually crying and afraid to enter some of the rooms because it was so realistic. You could smell the petrol from the chainsaw and ran for your life as you were attacked by these maniacs who in the moment might as well have been Leatherface himself because the further you get into the attraction the more you allow yourself become part of the story. 

I have never screamed so loud with fear and laughed so hysterically all at the same time in my life. As we reached the end of the walk through you enter a room where a live band are playing (who were fantastic) and you can get a cup of tea, crepes and even an Apache pizza. So we grabbed a cup of tea and I had to go outside and a have a ciggy to calm my nerves and then we saw it. 'ALONE' the brand new addition to the attraction which as the name suggests, can only be experienced alone. We were extremely apprehensive whether we should take on this challenge especially after reading the waver you must sign which includes rules and terms and conditions.

But after travelling all the way from Mayo there was no way we were going home without having the FULL experience of haunted spooktacular horror farm. So in we went. Now I can't go into details of what went on inside Alone as it would ruin it for those of you willing to take on the challenge but what I will say is I felt like I was actually in a horror movie. If you are claustrophobic then this is not for you as they place a black hood over your head. It was such a surreal experience and the actors were astounding and really make you suffer. Haunted Spooktacular really outdid themselves with ALONE.

It is now the following day and I am still pumped with adrenaline from last night and cannot stop talking about this superb scare attraction. I cannot recommend it highly enough to people. Here is what Liz King and Dee Mulroe members of the Mayo Horror Society thought of their exerience.

Liz King: 'Yesterday I was apprehensive. I had agreed to go to Haunted Spooktacular in Kells,with my sister Dee Mulroe. I wasn't sure what to expect or if I would regret that decision. I have to say that I am so glad that I went and I will definitely go again, to say it was a fun evening is an understatement, if you love Halloween and you are an adrenaline junkie, you simply cannot miss this experience. I would say that it is just a freak fest for the senses, I am still buzzing today. The organisers have left nothing out, it is so well constructed and takes in most of the cult horror movies, I can't say enough about how much fun the evening was. If you want to have a great evening out with friends and you like a good scare, then don't miss this event. I was blown away that we have something of this caliber in Ireland, well done to the people behind this,and thanks again to Dee and Rita Scott for making it such fun'

Dee Mulroe: 'As a horror fan for as long as I can remember I can honestly say that I was delighted to go to Haunted Spectacular. I scoured the net to try and see what was I was about to enter into but I couldn't find much. Regardless I tried to prepare myself on the 2 1/2 hour journey by telling myself its not real, its just an experience and was sure that if i kept that in my mind that I would be fine.

Well I was fine but I was scared beyond my highest expectations. I became the person that I normally shout at in the horror movies, I made silly mistakes and I became a complete submissive with the thought of just wanting out!!!

I decided that after the main attraction I hadn't had enough and that I would enter “Alone” so as not to regret it. I will never EVER enter it again. I cannot divulge what happened within but I will say this - people who has been submitted to psychological warfare will forever be in my highest admirations. I shudder at the thought of the things that occurred in there, I will never forget what I heard, felt, touched and had done to me. It leaves you feeling like you are in the middle of your worst nightmare and no matter what you build yourself up for you will not be prepared.'

Trivago.co.uk 2015 

Here is a Link to a Blog that Trivago did for October 2015

http://checkin.trivago.co.uk/2015/10/14/halloween-events/

 

CLISARE October 2014 www.clisare.com 

I went to Haunted Spooktacular at Grove Gardens! I can't recommend it highly enough, if you want a good Halloween Scare!

Have a look at Clisare Vidio review of Haunted Spooktacular

www.youtube.com/watch?v=PcBmOzvTpfk  

 

 

Shauna Smith October 2014

BRILLIANT!!! Cant fault it, pure fear. Twists & Turns round every corner. Actors are Brilliant and at times a little to good. You forget it isn't real. Would recommend to everyone! it plays to all your senses and really gets the blood pumping 10/10 AMAZING!!!

 

Miranda Supple October 2014

Have to say I didn't think you could top last year but you did. Loved every minute of it from start to finish. Chainsaws get me eveytime, I have been three years in a row and they're still the scariest.  Fair play to all.

 

James J Lynch October 2014

Thank you Haunted Spooktacular, It was amazing vist during Halloween. Brilliant acts, hats off to the "ghoulish staff members" job terrifically well done, YES Scary & Fun at the same time. Toyally enjoyed and here's is to next year 2015.

 

June Rooney October 20014

What an fantastic way to spend a Halloween night. Best laugh and terror I have ever had. I will be recommending it to everyone.

 

Emmet Kerrigan October 2014

Not going to lie, that was bloody brilliant. Recommend it to everyone. I did SH1T myself just a little. Pass the Nappies.

 

Lauren Graham October 2014

What a night!!! You lot Scared the Bejesus out of me. Balled my eyes out from the clowns, Safe to say i'll never get them few hours of my life back. It was great craic though, definitely recommend for a laugh!!

 

Sharon Supple October 2014

Hi, just sending a quick message, I was there tonight and I have to say best year yet, we really enjoyed it. We were so scared well done to every one, you are all doing a great job. I will be definitely returning next year.

 

Krank.ie October 2013

Hallowe’en is probably my favourite holiday of the year as it is the only time it is morally or socially acceptable to look at sexy schoolgirls with lust.   So when we got an invitation to try out The Haunted Spooktacular at Grove Gardens in Kells, Co Meath, I was first to volunteer.

Upon doing my research, I was a little apprehensive, but not for the right reasons.  My biggest fear was that I would be bored shitless instead of being scared shitless.  Being ridiculously cynical and going to a haunted farm experience are not good bedfellows.  So rather than go on my own, I brought fellow Kranks, Carmel and Lauren to make sure that we covered all bases for the experience rather than having just me who would immediately dismiss it as rubbish.

I needn’t have bothered.

On the drive out to Kells, a combination of the lack of street lights plus the conversation that the girls were having about being scared started to give me an uneasy feeling in the pit of my stomach.  Either I was about to be a medical marvel and be the first man to experience period synchronisation, or I was actually getting a little nervous.  Perhaps this wouldn’t be the write off I had initially expected.

And it certainly wasn’t.

The guys down at the Haunted Spooktacular have excelled themselves.  This was genuinely the most fun I had being scared since that lady-boy in Thailand… erm… I mean…   It’s a perfect mix of suspense, theatre, darkness and shit-your-pants frights.  Pretty much all the way around the attraction, (which took just under an hour) the three of us were either gripping tightly on each others hand or accidentally ending up with our heads precariously buried up the one in front’s arse (in my defense, it was very dark and she stopped suddenly).  Special mention goes to our Lauren who despite screaming like a girl all the way through, was brave and took the lead at certain times.  And no mention at all for Carmel who, in scary situations, is about as useful as a Frenchman during a war.

Between walking through a forest of trees dimly lit by strips of light and trying to navigate through pitch dark cabins, this experience is an assault on all of your five senses (and if you have the sixth one, you get to see dead people too).  Your sight is deprived, your hear ALL of the bumps in the night, you can smell petrol from chainsaws, you need to touch all kinds of things to navigate around and… you can taste the crepes that are on sale at the end of the experience.  Really, crepes.  I was surprised too.

It is pretty much impossible to describe the experience in-depth without ruining some of the surprise elements that make it so effective but trust me when I say that you will not be disappointed.  Whether you have a fear of the dark, clowns, the devil or just insane people chasing you in the dark, all your horror fears are catered for.   And even if, like me, all sense of fun has been drained from you by the crushing abyss that is life and you have turned into a pedantic cynic who immediately discounts anything resembling fun as something that “wouldn’t be your thing”, give it a go.  It really is that good.

Just make sure you don’t go alone.

 

Independent.ie Video Review 2013

Jason Kennedy visits  Haunted Spooktacular Horror Farm near Kells, Co Meath to test his nerves. - click link below for review

 http://www.independent.ie/videos/highlights/independentie-visit-a-haunted-farm-29712494.html

 

Danni Danndyelf October 2013

Haunted spooktacluar is one of the most amazing experiences I've ever done, I was so afraid but it was an amazing experience! It was so well done! The actors and the set up was a credit to the people behind this event! I've never done an attraction quiet like haunted spooktaluar!! I can't wait to see what they created for 2014.

Book Now
Haunted Spooktacular

Shortlisted for EIA
& ScareCon

events award spirit meath iradio logo 98fm radio logo